National nuclear waste dump submissions

Now the six nominated sites for a potential national nuclear waste dump have been announced, the federal government is calling for comments. FOE Adelaide will make a submission in support of the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities who do not want the dump.

Submissions must be received by 11 March 2016 at:

The Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
National Radioactive Waste Section
GPO Box 9839
Canberra ACT 2601

The shortlisted locations are at

Sally’s Flat – New South Wales

Hale – Northern Territory

Cortlinye – South Australia (near Kimba on the Eyre Peninsula)

Pinkawillinie – South Australia (near Kimba on the Eyre Peninsula)

Barndioota – South Australia (near Hawker in the Flinders Ranges.

Oman Ama – Queensland